Home > Uncategorized > Sweet and lower.

Sweet and lower.

sweet-n-low-frontEveryone has a palate, kind of like their … you know what. I too have a palate. My palate likes sweet things. It also likes things with a low opportunity cost, but that is for another blog post.

About a week ago, (most of you who are actually reading this are shocked I still know the address to this blog, it’s been tough to get to it with the great flood of 2013) I noticed that I don’t like how my nerves feel. I felt jittery. I was unhappy.

My loving life partner informed me it’s part of getting old. I say Bah, Humbug. It is something else.

I decided to go on a search, in and around my body (no cavity searches, just chakra kind of crap) and I decided its the Truvia. I was trying to supplant (I chose that WOW word very carefully) sugar with a substitute. I was using it in my coffee in my oatmeal muffins, everywhere I needed sweetness. (I hope most of you are now melting, and reminding yourself that my sweetness is so very plentiful that it not necessary to actually add to it, but alas, a man must eat.)

Anyway, I stopped eating it. And I went, on Throw Back Thursday, to Sweet and Low. You may ask – what the… how did that become the sweetener of choice? It is just sweet enough for me. The cancer crap was never proven and my grand parents practically worshipped it and lived to 93. Fat, artificially sweetened, but 93. I plan to go out the same way.

And – of course, it would not be a Clutching Coins post if I did not report that it was $1.75 for a box of 100 packets, versus $6.48 of Truvia.

Early retirement – here I come!

  1. the intentional tourist
    February 1, 2014 at 8:58 am

    Nicole! Where have you been?

    • February 1, 2014 at 9:00 am

      Asleep at the wheel. Thank g-d I did not crash. More me to come. I promise.

  2. February 2, 2014 at 2:06 am

    You wanna know how I knew about this post? Twitter. Yeah, baby – I’m entering the new millennium at long last. Well worth it, too – now I know how to live long and prosper, thanks to a little pink packet. xo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

